• menu icon


Class of 2024 Cum Laude Inductees

Seventeen members of the Class of 2024 were inducted into the Cum Laude Society at Bryn Mawr during a ceremony in Centennial Hall on April 2, 2024. 
The Cum Laude Society is an international organization that recognizes scholastic achievement at the secondary level. The Cum Laude Society at Bryn Mawr is based on the Phi Beta Kappa society that was established in 1906 that later became Cum Laude in the 1950s. The Bryn Mawr chapter was created in 1984.  Membership in the society is based not only on academic excellence, but character, integrity and honor through dedication to all school commitments. Students are selected by a committee of faculty and administrators from the Middle and Upper Schools.
Seniors Sela Alonso, Sydney Booker, Cadence Cherot, Elisa Chi, Xo Flaherty Zimmerman, Madeline Grimm, Abbie King, Annika Madsen, Aara Sampath, Elisabeth Stevens, Sophia Summers, McKenzie Tebo, Krassimira Trainor, Crystal Wang, Madeleine Ward, Sophie Weiser and Qinglan Yu were inducted in recognition of their academic achievements.
Farah Evans ’98, director of student support services, spoke at the ceremony, highlighting the importance of  highlighting grace towards oneself and the celebration of others. She concluded her speech by reminding students, “This morning I invite you to consider these two essential aspects of your academic and personal journey, to join with me in offering yourself grace for whatever unmet expectation, we all have them, and to celebrate those amongst us.”
Seniors also received departmental awards for academic achievement and intellectual curiosity.The full list of award recipients is below. 
The Britten Moore Math Award – McKenzie Tebo
The Creative Writing Award – Sydney Booker
The Ruth Bridgman Pagon Memorial Award – Ellie Chi
The Lawrason Perkins deMuth Prize in History – Sophie Brynes
The Rosemary Elliot Keyser Harder Art Award – Zavier Richardson
The Music Prize – Sophie Gourmand
The Class of 1974 Performing Arts Prize – Elizabeth Coulson
The Evelyn Estey Sanders Latin Prize – Sloane Wehman
The Yvonne Green Goodhue Modern Language Prize – Cadence Cherot
The Clare Coriell Hardy Award in the Sciences – Emily Yu
The Lynn Sears Byank Computer Science Award – Sela Alonso
The Anne Pugh Award – Lexi Reber