• menu icon


Class of 2022 National Merit Scholar Semifinalists and Commended Scholars

Twenty-two Bryn Mawr seniors, more than 25 percent of the Class of 2021, are receiving national academic honors this year. Two members of the Class of 2022 have been named National Merit Semifinalists for their achievements on the PSAT/NMSQT this year, representing the highest number at any girls’ school in the Baltimore area. Twenty additional seniors are being recognized through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation and College Board.

Sloane Huey and Emily Kang were named National Merit Semifinalists, a distinction given to roughly 1% of high school seniors. As Semifinalists they will continue to compete for one of 7,600 National Merit Scholarships which will be awarded this spring. 
Eighteen other students were named Commended Scholars for their outstanding achievement on the PSAT/NMSQT - Alexis Alton, Kate Butler, Caroline Colangelo, Geneva Flores, Shreya Gandhi, Clara Gong, Allie Gorti, Alexandra Joy Schenning, Stasia Kelly, Kaitlin Leitherer, Olivia Matlaga, Lana Millman, Anisha Narasimhan, Rory Powell, Madeline Richard, Jingjing Xu, Ammy Yuan, Talia Zirkin.
Additionally, Alexis Alton, Ava Wilson and Zawadi Sankofa were named College Board National African American Program Scholars. Sloane Huey was also named a College Board National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholar.  

The National Merit Scholarship program is open to all high school students who complete either the PSAT or the NMSQT prior to the end of their junior year and recognizes students whose results show academic aptitude and probable success in strenuous colleges. Students who are named as Semifinalists or Commended Scholars must meet or exceed a selection index. The Semifinalist index varies by state, with Maryland having one of the highest indices in the nation. There is a nationwide index for commended scholars which allows the NMSC to show a representative sampling of students across the country.