• Menu

2020 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists & Commended Scholars

Thirteen members of Bryn Mawr's Class of 2021 are receiving national academic honors through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation and College Board.

Twelve seniors have been selected as Semifinalists or Commended Scholars by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation for their achievements on the PSAT/NMSQT this year. Riya Khosla and Camryn Suntha, were named National Merit Semifinalists, a distinction given to roughly 1% of high school seniors. As Semifinalists they will continue to compete for one of 7,600 National Merit Scholarships which will be awarded this spring. Ten other students were named Commended Scholars for their outstanding achievement on the PSAT/NMSQT - Jessica Dett, Michelle Feng, Carrie Jiang, Sophia Kunisaki, MyCo Le, Laura Loveland, Eva Mammen , Marina Miller, Elizabeth Sarver and Kavya Uppalapati.

The National Merit Scholarship program is open to all high school students who complete either the PSAT or the NMSQT prior to the end of their junior year and recognizes students whose results show academic aptitude and probable success in strenuous colleges. Students who are named as Semifinalists or Commended Scholars must meet or exceed a selection index. The Semifinalist index varies by state, with Maryland having one of the highest indices in the nation. There is a nationwide index for commended scholars which allows the NMSC to show a representative sampling of students across the country.  

Additionally, Camryn Turner Markes and Sophia Kunisaki were named National Recognition Recipients through the College Board. The National Recognition Program was created to aid students from underrepresented communities through connections with colleges and universities as well as providing academic honors.