• Menu

Celebrating our Athletes

This spring, Martian Nation was disappointed that our spring athletes were unable to compete due to the COVID-19 pandemic. While our athletes may have missed this season, we are proud of their resolve, positivity and desire to remain connected with their teammates and move forward together.
On May 13, our community gathered virtually for the Spring Athletics Assembly to honor leaders who emerged this spring with the LEAD Award, Varsity Cup, McCormick Unsung Hero Award, CM Kelly Award, and to recognize our scholar athletes and seniors playing college sports next year. 

2020 Senior Collegiate Athletes

Twelve members of the Class of 2020 will go on to play one or more sports in college. Congratulations to the following student-athletes:

Nina Duke: Barnard College-Columbia University, Archery
Ashley Fearey: Dickinson College, Lacrosse
Maisie Fischel: University of Tampa, Lacrosse
Maddie Gwyther: Kenyon College, Field Hockey
Alison Harbaugh: University of Notre Dame, Lacrosse
Sophie Hood: Davidson College, Track and Field
Abbey Hurlbrink: Johns Hopkins University, Lacrosse
Emma Joyce: Tufts University, Lacrosse
Amelia King: Notre Dame of Maryland University, Volleyball
Kylie Taylor: Trinity College, Lacrosse
Lindsay Thompson: George Washington University, Tennis
Maelynn Ugokwe: Tufts University, Track and Field

Spring Athletic Assembly Honors 

McCormick Unsung Hero Award: J'nai Knox
The Ensign C. Markland Kelly Award: Abbey Hurlbrink
LEAD Award for Leadership in the Face of Adversity: 

Elizabeth Cuccuzella: track and field
Mardi Dittmar: softball
Jaime Griffin: track and field
Alison Harbaugh: varsity lacrosse
Sophie Hood: varsity track and field
Abbey Hurlbrink: varsity lacrosse
Emma Joyce: varsity lacrosse
Julia Kanamine-Surrick: softball
J'nai Knox: track and field
Sona Kukreja: badminton
Gwen Mather: varsity lacrosse
Oliva Matlaga: jv lacrosse
Ashley Raman: badminton
Ava Scharfstein: badminton
Cailyn Thomas: jv lacrosse
Paige Warren: golf
Isabel Watriss: track and field
AnneLindle Weigman: jv lacrosse
MaryKat Weigman: golf

The Varsity Cup is awarded to student athletes who participate in three varsity sports within a school year.
First Year Recipients: Freshman: Reese Woodworth  Sophomore: Maggie Winstead  Juniors: Julia Brinker and Clare McIntyre 
Second Year Recipients: Sophomore: Brooke Vinson  Juniors: Jessica Dett, Zoe Faraone, Charlotte Smith, Kavya Uppalapati and Isabelle Watriss
Third Year Recipients: Juniors: Lucie Boucher, Tahra Khanuja, Marina Miller

The following Seniors are recognized for their varsity cups:
1 Year: Mardi Dittmar, Jaimie Griffin, J’nai Knox, Lexi Redrick, and Maelynn Ugokwe
2 Years: Maisie Fischel and Abbey Hurlbrink
3 Years: Emma Joyce and Kylie Taylor